Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)

Mon, Nov 24, 2008

Building Basics


LEED is a green building rating system which is used for designing, constructing, operating and certifying buildings that have a low impact on the environment, promote good health of its occupants and are profitable. A LEED-certified building is verified by a third-party on its performance. LEED was created by the U.S. Green Building Council (U.S.GBC).

The focus of the LEED system is on the following five areas of a building project: energy efficiency, material selection, indoor environmental quality, sustainable site development and water savings.

The rating system consists of four levels: certified, silver, gold and platinum. These levels correspond to credits accrued in the above five areas. The certification review fees of Platinum certified buildings are refunded.

LEED Products

The following types of buildings and projects can be certified under LEED:

  • LEED-NC for new construction
  • LEED-EB for existing buildings
  • LEED-CI for commercial interiors
  • LEED-CS for core and shell
  • LEED-H for houses
  • LEED-ND for neighborhood development
  • LEED-Schools
  • LEED-Retail
  • LEED-Healthcare
| More

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.